Still no exercise but actually beginning to feel human.

So after a good ten days waiting on hearing back about my puter at the shop I finally get to the bottom of what has happened with it. Nothing. That’s right, it has taken them close to ten days to report that it won’t turn on (yeah, like, that is the fault!!) and do nothing else. I find this out when they clarify to me that if I want them to actually open the thing up and diagnose the fault, they will charge me $140 per half hour just to *diagnose* the fault, and then will give me a quote for how much to fix it. No, they won’t place a cap on how many half hours it will take them to diagnose the problem. And they do require payment of at least the first $140 in advance. Given that I fully expect the verdict to be “it’s fried”, I don’t really want to spend too much more money on it simply so that I can make a claim for reimbursement on my insurer. Particularly when they are charging just as much as MY HOURLY RATE to open the bloody computer up and have a look. Bloody delicate geniuses (genii?)

So, after that wasted 10 days of messing around with zero progress, I approach it from a different perspective. So now the plan is for my insurer to get the computer and assess its brokenness, which means I don’t have to pay for pointless delicate genius work.

The frustrating thing is that I am 90% sure that my computer is a write-off. I am 100% sure I have the money to buy a new one and won’t have to wait until I get the insurance payout. However, I am also 100% sure that if I go ahead a buy a new one now, they will declare that they are able to fix the old one and I will then have two (2) notebook computers. So more waiting.

I must be clear that I am not without computer of course. Apart from the fact that I use a computer all day at work, I have been using our spare mac (which I can’t stand), so I haven’t gone cold turkey.

Oh, and prize for the best customer service in this whole debacle goes to the girl from the insurer’s appointed computer technician who rang this morning to get all of my details so that the job could be assigned to a technician. I explained that the problem was that the computer didn’t turn on and had no function lights. She concluded her call by saying “If you notice any other faults with the computer in the meantime, please call us and let us know”. I shall be sure to inform them if the machine decides to go further than just totally ceasing to work. I mean, it is just a very expensive paperweight at the moment. How much worse could it get? Spontaneous combustion perhaps? A side order of total structural meltdown?